Banana Bread Porridge

Yes, I know. I am guilty. Here I am posting ANOTHER porridge recipe!

Lately I’ve been so busy, the only time I’ve had to experiment in the kitchen is breakfast!

I made this recipe today, and I have to admit, I think this is definitely one of my favourite porridge recipes yet!

Untitled-3

The coconut caramelized bananas just added such a decadent touch and this recipe reminded me so much of warm, banana bread straight from the oven. Yum!

bana

Banana Bread Porridge Recipe

Serves 1.

Ingredients

  • 1 teaspoon coconut oil
  • 1 large banana (cut into chunks)
  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1 teaspoon ground flaxseeds
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • Flaked coconut to serve

Method

  1. Melt the coconut oil over medium heat. Add the banana chunks and cook for 4-5minutes over medium heat.
  2. Then, add the oats, flaxseeds, cinnamon, nutmeg, pinch of salt and cup of water to the pan. Simmer for 8-10 minutes.
  3. Stir in the vanilla extract and remove from heat.
  4. Serve in bowl and sprinkle with coconut and sliced banana if you wish. Enjoy!
5 thoughts on “Banana Bread Porridge

Leave a Reply

