Chocolate Chunk and Roasted Macadamia Nut Caramel Slice – Gluten free, egg-free & corn-free

Hi Everyone!

I know it has been awhile since I have posted – uni work has got the best the me lately!

But it’s Father’s Day tomorrow so I got myself into the kitchen to cook dad a decadent treat.  My sister also has been feeling a bit under the weather lately, so this dish really doubled up as a ‘sweet’ gift for them both 🙂

ellex

I was inspired for this recipe because my sister loves caramel (like everyone in my family as I soon discovered)and in particular is my biggest fan when it comes to the normal chocolate caramel slice I make (recipe here)

However, I wanted to spice things up a bit and serve something a little different from the norm slice. Welcome macadamia nuts. These add a delicious bite and go so well with the chocolate bits and gooey caramel!

Instead of melting the chocolate, chocolate chips are sprinkled over it, adding a nice texture against the rigged macadamia nuts, smooth caramel and shortbread-like base.

This dish went down a treat with requests for seconds!

Hope you all have a lovely and safe fathers day!

Elle x

Chocolate Chunk and Roasted Hazelnut Caramel Slice Recipe

Gluten-Free, Corn-free, Egg-free

Makes 16 delicious slices!

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups gluten free flour mix (I used my recipe here)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 125g unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 380g tin Nestle Top n Fill (Can be found in baking aisle in Australia)
  • 200g dark chocolate chips (I use Nestle ‘bits’ – no corn :)!)
  • 125g macadamia nuts

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180C and lightly grease a 30cm x 20cm base measurement with baking paper.
  2. To roast the macadamia nuts, spread the whole nuts, in a single layer, evenly on a baking tray – roast for 7 – 10mins, set aside.
  3. Combine flour, baking powder, salt and sugar in a bowl. Mix with a fork.
  4. Melt the butter and add the vanilla essence, then add this mixture to the flour and stir with the fork until combined.
  5. Press the mixture in the prepared pan (I used the back of a metal spoon) and bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until golden.
  6. Set aside to cool slightly. Whilst this is cooling, chop the macadamia into rough pieces.
  7. Spread the nestle top N fill caramel over the base.
  8. Sprinkle the macadamia nuts and dark chocolate evenly over the caramel.
  9. Gently, press the nuts and chocolate into the caramel mixture.
  10. Bake for 10 minutes.
  11. Allow to cool completely in the pan before removing and cutting into squares to serve 🙂
7 thoughts on “Chocolate Chunk and Roasted Macadamia Nut Caramel Slice – Gluten free, egg-free & corn-free

  1. It sounds delicious. What brand of vanilla extract are you using that is corn free? I’m having a hard time with this ingredient because in the US at least it’s often made with corn. According to Costco regarding their Kirkland Signature brand Pure Vanilla Extract:

    “The ethyl alcohol used to create the Vanilla is 100% corn based. Vanilla extract is processed similar to coffee percolation. Water and corn based alcohol are seeped through the ground vanilla beans. The resulting liquid is the vanilla extract. It consists of the vanilla extractives in water, alcohol (35%) and sugar.

    Vanilla Extract must be at least 35% alcohol in the USA according to FDA standards. Vanilla extract is typically 65% water/35% alcohol.”

    1. Hi fussbunsmama, thanks for dropping by! I also had trouble finding a corn free vanilla extract here in Australia, corn certainly is a hard allergy to have! I have made my own extract and have just posted the recipe here if you want to check it out:) http://wp.me/p2w91U-4H

      Alternatively, if I am pressed for time, I have only managed to find one here in Australia. I use “Queen Natural Organic Vanilla Essence” they have verified that it is wheat free, gluten free, corn free and citrus free. The Alcohol they use is derived from sugar cane. However, this is an Australian brand, so I don’t think it would be for sale in the US.

      I highly recommend making your own, but if you don’t have the time available to do this (as it takes about 4 weeks!) then what I did before finding the vanilla essence was added a teaspoon of pure maple syrup – I know its not the same thing, but I found the results to be fine, as it still adds a little bit of sweetness.

      Hope that helps!
      Elle

Leave a Reply

